Arkansas Physical Therapy and Physical Therapy License Licensure and Certification
Nationwide physical therapy jobs are projected to grow much more rapidly than average, and the same holds true in
Arkansas. The state’s aging population and expanded insurance coverage are just some of the indicators that point to a
steady increase in demand for specialists in this field that extends into the coming decades. Last year the average
salary for physical therapists in Arkansas amounted to $77,040.
The Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy is the agency responsible for licensing PTs and PTAs throughout the
state. You will need to work with the Board as you complete these required steps to become licensed:
- Step 1: Graduate from an Approved Physical Therapy Program
- Step 2: Apply for Licensure with the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy
- Step 3: Pass the Required Exams
- Step 4: Renew Your License
Step 1: Graduate from an Approved Physical Therapy Program
To become a physical therapist or physical therapy assistant in Arkansas you will need to graduate from a PT
education program offered at a school or college that is regionally accredited and approved by the State Board, such
as the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE).
Once you have graduated with a certification or degree you should have the knowledge it takes to be an effective PT
or PTA. Your education program will have taken you through everything from the basics of human biology to anatomy and
Step 2: Apply for Licensure with the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy
To apply for your PT or PTA license you will need to start by sending a complete application to the Arkansas State
Board of Physical Therapy; 9 Shackleford Plaza, Suite 3; Little Rock, AR 72211. You will also need to make a request
to the PT education program where you completed your degree to have your official transcripts sent to the State Board.
Part of your initial application will be a request for clearance to take the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE).
The State Board will review your complete application for licensure and if you have met the qualifications up to this
point, including passing the Jurisprudence Exam detailed in Step 3, you can be approved by the Board to take the NPTE.
Once you have submitted a complete application, you can expect to hear back from the State Board within three
Step 3: Pass the Required Exams
You will need to pass two exams in order to become a physical therapy assistant or full physical therapist in
- Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy Jurisprudence Exam
- National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE)
This exam will evaluate you on your knowledge of the Arkansas laws pertaining to being a PT or PTA. The Jurisprudence
Exam is offered online and focuses especially on the Practice Act. You will need to create an online account account with the
Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy to register for this exam. The exam itself is comprised of 20 questions and a
passing score is considered to be 70 percent correct answers. Your score will be revealed immediately following the
The Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy will need to receive proof of your passing the Jurisprudence Exam before
it will clear you to take the NPTE.
National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE)
The NPTE is administered by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) and offered at Prometric testing sites across the state.
You can register to take this online and you will receive your testing date and appointment once the
State Board has approved you as being eligible for testing.
The NPTE is offered in two different formats:
- Physical Therapist – 250 questions covering:
- PT examination
• Evaluation, range, and diagnosis
- PT interventions
- Major body systems
- PT examination
- Physical Therapy Assistant – 200 questions covering:
- Collection of information for physical therapy
- Treatment options for maladies
• Types of PT interventions
- PT equipment
- Major body systems
The Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy considers a scaled score of at least 600 as passing on the NPTE.
Altogether you should expect to pay the following for your exams and associated fees:
- $370 for the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE) to the FSBPT
- $10 for the jurisprudence exam
- Prometric testing center fees:
- $85 to sit for the Physical Therapist Test
- $70 to sit for the Physical Therapy Assistant Test
Step 4: Renew Your License
Your license will need to be renewed every year by March 1st, and you will need to complete the requisite amount of
continuing education credits every two years:
- 20 contact hours for physical therapists
- 10 contact hours for physical therapy assistants
Only half of your continuing education may be completed online, and any coursework or event that you would like to
receive credit for must be approved by the State Board. As a PT or PTA you can renew your license online.